Questions from young people

I am ecstatic when I get the chance to answer (or field) questions from young children.  A few days ago, I was asked, “What is Martin Luther’s middle name?”  Seminary doesn’t cover this stuff!  Even more delightful is when the questions come because parents are engaged with their children about the faith.  One parent informed me that they had to answer questions about Martin Luther and Martin Luther King, Jr. (no, they are not related).  “Did Jesus have a pet?”  (I’m guessing it was a lamb.)  To me, when children ask these kinds of questions, they are attempting to make connections between their lives and the lives of the other faithful people they learn about.  They also keep me humble, because I don’t have answers to the best questions.

Pondering Pastor

Leave a Reply

