Topic Alert: Evolution & Religion

As a signer of the Clergy Project Letter, it is my intent during February to use this space on occasion to offer my perspectives about religion and evolution as non-conflicting disciplines.  Part of the clergy project letter states:

We the undersigned, Christian clergy from many different traditions, believe that the timeless truths of the Bible and the discoveries of modern science may comfortably coexist.

What’s  prompting this?  February 8-10 is designated “Evolution Weekend” where clergy are invited to address the matters of evolution and religion as part of the worship service.  I will not be using worship on the first Sunday in Lent to do this.  I believe that the season of Lent is not the appropriate time or place for such a focus, and it doesn’t quite fit with the themes we’ve planned for worship anyway.  But I will be engaging people in this conversation both here and in face-to-face settings.

Note: I’ll not be unbiased in these postings.  I will be civil.  Comments that are not civil will not be permitted.  Biased comments are welcomed.

For the record:  I am strongly committed to Christianity.  I believe scripture as authoritative and hold it in high regard.

Pondering Pastor

Leave a Reply

