Where is civility?

I know it exists, but it’s missing from a lot of places.

In a quick trip to the bank and grocery store this morning …

  • The driver of a vehicle at the bank drive-through (parallel lane) suddenly cut out in front of me after I had pulled forward to make a turn and was waiting for a vehicle to pass.  I don’t think she saw me or the other vehicle.
  • A shopper at the grocery store was talking on the cell phone (in his outside voice) while shopping, all through the checkout lane, through the transaction, out the door, and into his car.  (The bank has posted a sign asking that while conducting bank business you are not to be on the cell phone.  I guess this isn’t common sense any more.)
  • Shopping carts were left in the parking lot (not in the corrals) to drift with the wind and slope.

I know it all happens all the time.  Is it so hard to forget that other people live around me?  Consideration for others who follow me isn’t that difficult.

I did have some nice conversations in the grocery store, even though that’s not why I go.

Pondering Pastor

3 responses to “Where is civility?

  1. 1. Is not a lack of civility, but a lack of driving skills. She should have seen both of you before she even decided to move at all.

    2. I tend to find the following thought reassuring: These people are probably worse of than you: so very very busy and stressed they cannot even take a quiet stroll though the grocery store.
    (In my grocery store they have a sign up: “We respect your privacy, therefore we will wait serving you until you’re done phoning.”)

    3. Yes, it’s uncivil, but it creates jobs for the under-educated and ultimately: the uncivil customers pay for them!

  2. I wonder if we don’t experience such behavior because there are fewer instances of that Still Small Voice whispering to us. The gospel provides simple operating instructions that even the most unlearned and untrained person can follow. When people stop going to church, any church, and stop reading scripture they begin to stop following them and then don’t teach them to theur children and stop expecting others to as well. I think it becomes a “by their fruits ye shall know them” moment.

  3. Hm, I wonder. One of the hallmarks of uncivility is double standards: people stop being civil, but still expect civility from others. So I wouldn’t agree with the “and stop expecting others to as well”-part.
    The lack of civility isn’t linked to a lack of awareness of it. After all: if people didn’t know (anymore) about civility, they wouldn’t miss it and life would be just as reciprocal.

Leave a Reply

