What I’m Reading: Aug 08

I’ve had some people ask me what I’m reading right now, and I find that to be an important question.  My interests and attention ebs and flows, but I’m constantly reading.

First, Scripture.  Don’t assume that pastors are always reading scripture.

I’ve just finished Made to Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others Die.  In fact, I posted something about that here.

I’ve got six fiction books going right now.  Well, not really.  I have 6 unfinished fictions books.  Several I quit reading within sight of the end simply because I lost interest.  I have two that I’ve recently started.  I’m not sure I’ll continue with any of them.

Last night, I ordered a copy of the current issue of The Anglican Theological Review about homosexuality.  I’m looking forward to “devouring” this journal.

I’ve been “digesting” an article in The Christian Century titled “When Truth is a Lie: Fox TV’s ‘Moment of Truth’ game show”  It uses Bonhoffer’s book Ethics as a model for looking at truth as portrayed in “Moment of Truth”.  Andrew Root maintains that “Truth telling is always part of a relationship, not a contextless principle.”

Seminary Ridge Review (Fall 2007: Volume 10 No. 1) contains a series of lectures focused on Biblical Interpretation.

In preparation for our Monthly Men’s Group August 14th, I’ll be rereading Luther’s “Whether Soldiers, Too, May be Saved”, as well as some material about “just war theory”.

A little lighter theological book is Crazy Talk: A Not-So-Stuffy Dictionary of Theological Terms.  I’m simply becoming familiar with this as a possible resource.

As I finalize what I’ll be teaching in the Adult Christian Education Classes I conduct, I’ll also be reading in preparation.  I’m still working out those details and reviewing a large number of possibilities.

So, that’s what I’m reading right now (and in coming days).  I’m sure the list will change by mid-month.

Pondering Pastor

One response to “What I’m Reading: Aug 08

  1. I’m reading the radical reformission by mark driscoll and loving it, next on the agenda is sex god by rob bell or blue like jazz by ??

    small group survey
    Click Here to take survey

Leave a Reply

